patriciaswisdom.com Rotating Header Image

 

The Antigone Poems ~Marie Slaight (Illustrated by Terrence Tasker)

“I deem this a holy book – written in ecstasy and the madness of genius.” – Grace Cavalieri

I am in the grip of a striking pain in my spine and I think I can’t make one more minute of breath. Then I remember the story of Antigone, a Greek tragedy, and I am reminded I need to read a new book of poems.

THE ANTIGONE POEMS is a stunning book of art and words based on the Antigone tragedies. We are right there with the King, losing his entire family, and yet gaining wisdom. My pain breaths in and out with the concise brutality of the drama written in the words. Slaight has a mastery in writing of rebellion and anger and confusion, a revolution into incredible words. Each section is illustrated by Terrence Tasker’s drawings, masks really. So a Greek tragedy comes to life in new form. My pain is divided with each stanza into small molecules. Now appealing, I open and close the book to drop into the reading and the release of my physical pain.

This book is a keeper. I don’t imagine it as a gift and yet, for anyone working through pain or hard decisions, it certainly is a guide. I thank TLC book tours for having the authors send this beautiful tome in a timely manner. As I heal, I am keeping it by my side as reference – the breath heals, the words ameliorate the incision.

MARIE SLAIGHT (1954 – ) has worked in Montreal, New Orleans, and Buenos Aires as a writer, producer and performer for film, theatre and music. Her poetry has appeared in American Writing, Pittsburgh Quarterly, Poetry Salzburg, The Abiko Quarterly, New Orleans Review and elsewhere. Slaight is currently the director of Altaire Productions & Publications, a Sydney-based arts production company.

Terrence Tasker (1947 – 1992) was raised in rural western Canada and went on to become a self-taught artist and filmmaker. He co-founded and built the original Studio Altaire, a 90-seat theater and visual art gallery in 1980’s Montreal. He made a series of short films, worked as a set builder in theater and film and held various jobs in construction, mining, finance and industrial installations.

Related Reading:
The Robot Scientists Daughter
I Regret Everything
Doll God

The Case of the Invisible Dog: A Shirley Homes Mystery ~Diane Stingley

“Any man or woman who commits a crime is my mortal enemy. And they should be your enemy too. Criminals upset the natural order of thing. they tare a hole in the natural fabric of society and it is my job to mend that hole. But I will tell you this, Tammy: there are times when my efforts feel like one small raindrop trying to fill and ocean.” Kindle book at 22%

Tammy Norman is at a confusing juncture in her life: She needs a new job, she needs more advice than her aunt Ilene can give her, and sitting around binge watching DVDs is wearing her down. She finds an ad in the local paper and is off to apply for a job. After a fortifying danish at the cafe below, she ascends the stairs to meet her new boss Shirley Homes. Ms. Jones asses Tammy to be an upright, moral, strong thinker who would be just perfect as her receptionist. The job begins…

Shirley Homes believes herself to be the great, great, granddaughter of Sir Conen Doyles’ Sherlock Holmes. This is a rather troublesome problem in the 21st century because most readers know Sherlock is a fictional figure.

The book describes the incredible circumstances, costume designs, and Shirley’s particular gift of wisdom. I had to keep running after all of the little tricks she tried to pull out of her hat.

There is a murder. There is an invisible dog. A great deal of the story is Tammy trying to cope and figure out her boss.

TLC sent me the e-copy of this book for review. It was an interesting and different story. I would recommend it for the reader who likes a slower mystery and thinking through the problem solving process. I did not like the two page discussion on the importance of understanding the use of fingernail files – over the top. I think this book will do well in a quirky market.

Related Reads:
Shady Cross
The Serpent of Venice
The Chalice

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY (An Ayesha Ryder Novel) ~Nick Pengelley

TLC Book Tours  sent me an uncorrected eBook of this book probably because they know how much I enjoyed reading the first two books in the series!  I am very glad they sent an advanced copy; a good read.

“Fans of Steve Berry and James Rollins will devour Ryder: Bird of Prey, the latest white-knuckle thriller featuring Palestinian-born, British-educated adventurer Ayesha Ryder. She’s one of fiction’s boldest heroines—and now she’s rewriting royal history.” (from Amazon page)

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY is a great read.  I like the political aspects, the suspenseful elements, the chase, the history and the knowing that there is a pub as part of the International school located at Herstmonceux Castle.  I enjoy the intelligent thinking of the academics solving this ancient problem and wandering through the countryside, tombs and Abbeys on these life changing treasure hunts.  I can renew my history lessons and figure out what is fantasy and where the mythology meets the road.  And Yes!  The mercenaries always seem to have guns and weapons galore (on the page!).

I just cannot imagine readers not loving that our heroine and hero are sexy Librarians and Archeologists and our weapons of choice are crossbows and arrows!

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY is also very fast paced and as thus truly provided an escape when I was in most need.   I read the book in about 8 hours and it held my attention.  The writing is quite good and although I received an uncorrected e- copy there was only 1 typo and one missing word in the entire read.  Punctuation was not a problem.  Using a Zeppelin was also an interesting concept as well as students as warriors.   Quite a way to learn history.

I am going to put all three books in the series in a gift box and give it to my friend for her summer at the beach cabin.   I am surprised how much I like this series and would have to say it is because of the political, the history and how “smart” a read is RYDER: BIRD OF PREY

About the Author:

“Nick Pengelley is the author of the political thrillers Ryder, Ryder: American Treasure, and Ryder: Bird of Prey. Australian by birth, he’s had careers in Australia, Canada, and the United Kingdom as a law professor, legal consultant, and analyst on Middle East politics, which is his passion. Pengelley lives in Toronto with his family. “ ( from the TLC Tour page)

Related:
Ryder
Ryder: American Treasure
The Fixer 
The Unforgiveable Fix

L.A. ROTTEN: A Tom Tanner Mystery Novel ~Jeff Klima

“As an expert crime-scene cleaner, Tom Tanner charges big money to carve out bullets, mop up fluids, disinfect walls, and dispose of whatever’s left of whomever was unlucky enough to require his services. For a handsome young ex-con determined to stay out of trouble, it’s practically a dream job—until he discovers a grisly pattern to his work: a string of gruesome murders at a cheap motel chain, always in Room 236.

While prying into a serial killer’s nasty scheme, Tom finds himself with a sharp-witted strip-bar waitress plastered to his side—and his conscience. Even more surprising, the killer starts prying into his life, luring Tom into a twisted friendship. As Tom struggles against his adversary’s wicked whims, risking the lives of the few people he holds dear, bodies pile up everywhere he turns. With a psychopath calling the shots, Tom has little choice but to clean house once and for all.”  (from Amazon’s book page)

Lots of folks will enjoy reading this book, the tension and the street language and the sex.   I know that some of those folks who will like this book read my reviews or purchase books for their partners who like this kind of story.

I loved the GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO and I enjoy a good mystery, but this one was a bit too close to porn and street/gutter level reading when I got to the part of using a power saw to cut up and clean up a gang murder (in minute detail) I switched to speed reading and testing how fast I could go.  I did not want to tell people about this book.  There was a brief part of redemption and guilt release that was valuable for a reason to have read this book.  I do not at this time want to read any more of the books in this series.

I thank TLC Book Tours  for expanding my reading horizons. I have reviewed and now wish to not say anything else.

I do know readers who will want to read L A ROTTEN.

About the Author (from Kindle book)

Jeff Klima spent years in the grime and guts of Southern California as a co-founder of Orange County Crime Scene Cleaners.  He is a temporary survivor of Los Angeles and now resides in Ohio, where there is less danger but more corn.  Although he’s hard at work on another Tom Tanner mystery, he still finds time to write short bios about himself or the backs of his other books.  Also, check out THE DEAD JANITORS CLUB – that’s a good one.

Related:
The Organ Takers
Aeysha Ryder: American treasure 
Supreme Justice 
13 Hollywood Apes