Home Recommended Reading Workshops About RSS

Posts Tagged ‘suspense’

DUPLICITY: A Novel of Suspense, A Julia Gooden Mystery ~Jane Haseldine

Monday, April 10th, 2017

DUPLICITY is a suspenseful tale about a journalist who writes about crime in Detroit.  Julia has to balance many parts of her life and has not totally come to terms with her 9-year-old brother’s disappearance years ago.  Her attorney husband is just starting to come home after straying to another’s bed and her young sons are anxious for a full reconciliation.  Husband is starting a trial against the biggest crime boss in the area and is trying to balance all the pieces to get a conviction.  Julia is covering the story and yet has to avoid talking about anything with her husband.  Her surprise witness story is scooped from her byline and this is adding stress.

We are part of the unfolding of a complicated truth that will make a profound difference to everyone’s future.  The tensions run high as Julia pieces together the various aspects of the story step by step and with the assistance of several police officers.   Her 2 sons end up in harms way and thus Julia must find safety for them in the process.  Thank goodness for her feisty nanny.

Other than a bombing blast for tension rather the story builds and builds with Julia’s discoveries and with her risking herself into the fray.  I believe Haseldine’s experiences as a crime reporter adds to the authenticity of the story and the details of the investigation.

Lots of readers will like this book.  DUPLICITY also has some strong relationship connections to interpret and those influence the outcomes.  Those who want big action will find it here at a steady pace.   Those who want to read about corruption and drug related crimes would be well satisfied.  It is a good second novel.  The book has merit and was a good read.  I enjoyed that is was not so gory as several books have been lately and it did not overwhelm my thinking or cause sleep deprivation.  I was worried about how Julia put her children so secondary on the list particularly with her past problems of abduction in her family.

A TLC Book Tours book

Jane Haseldine is a journalist, former crime reporter, columnist, newspaper editor, magazine writer, and deputy director of communications for a governor.  Jane graduated from Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications with a degree in journalism. She resides in Southern California with her husband and two sons, but previously lived in Boston, San Francisco, New York, Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and Louisiana. You can find her at janehaseldine.com, Twitter, Goodreads, and Facebook.

Related Reading
The Worthington Wife
Once Upon A Lie
Olivay

MISSISSIPPI BLOOD: A Novel – #3 of the NATCHEZ BURNING Trilogy ~Greg Iles

Thursday, April 6th, 2017

“Adrenaline-fueled excitement…A very American epic.”  (Washington Post)

“The endgame is at hand for Penn Cage, his family and the enemies working to destroy them in this exhilarating final volume in the epic Natchez Burning trilogy set in modern Natchez, Mississippi – Greg Iles’s bold and ambitious story of blood and honor, violence and revenge that explores how profoundly the sins of the past haunt the present.” (Book cover)

MISSISSIPPI BLOOD is another book I could not put down.  I read it cover to cover in two sittings during a rainy, windy weekend and then took a deep breath.  The writing is intense and does not let up right to the very last couple of pages – there is no relief in the speed in this whole series. One is compelled to find out who killed Viola Turner, the young black nurse who was raped twice by a gang of KKK men and her brother was skinned alive.  Turner has come home to die but someone has sent her off before she could tell her tale and Dr. Cage is being blamed.  Penn Cage, the mayor, is trying to save his father and find the truth as he loses more of the people he loves.

After I reviewed NATCHEZ BURNING, I persuaded 10 friends to read the book.  After I reviewed #2, THE BONE TREE, I persuaded another 10 friends to read book one and then two and wait with me for book #3. There is so much in these stories that I found to be true in my younger years living in the South.  I found that there was an ingrained mythology about events and history that I had no evidence for or could I achieve some foothold in making change.  Such as so many Southern folks did not believe that the Civil War was about Slavery – nope it was about State’s Rights!!!  I found myself teaching a psychology seminar to most of my peers because the psychology that the Professor was expounding was not true or reasonable. This trilogy was about what I believed was going on and actually happening.

It is truly difficult to believe that these things happened when wrapped up in a contemporary suspense story.  It is hard to image that a writer from Natchez, Mississippi could have figured things out and been open to exposing such ideas.  Then again maybe it is the local boy who can render change in his neighborhood with stories better than outsiders.  Just maybe we need him to restructure thoughts about government in general and our last election.  Iles is a master storyteller.

TLC Book Tours  sent me an advanced copy of MISSISSIPPI BLOOD for review – It is definitely 5 Stars.

“Greg Iles spend his youth in Natchez, Mississippi.  His first novel, SPANDAU PHOENIX, was the first of fifteen NEW YORK TIMES bestsellers, including THE QUIET GAME, TURNING ANGEL, THE DEVIL’S PUNCHBOWL, which hit number one, NATCHEZ BURNING, and THE BONE TREE.  Iles’s novels have been made into films and published in more than thirty-five countries.  He is a member of the lit-rock group the ROCK BOTTOM Remainders, lives in Natchez, Mississippi, with his wife, and has two children.” (Cover)

Greg Iles Website
Greg Iles Facebook
Greg Iles Twitter

Related:
Natchez Burning
The Bone Tree

PhDEATH: The Puzzler Murders ~James P. Carse

Monday, October 17th, 2016

This Book will not be published until NOVEMBER 1,2016

Every once in awhile a book comes along that just takes the reader on a wonderful ride; turning around so many things at one time thought to be true but are now varied.  James Carse has indeed accomplished this mind changing with a hauntingly interesting tale, which plays with the imagination and the expectation with delight.

The setting is a major university in a major city on a square.  We are allowed to join a select group of the faculty to be part of an intellectual combat team attempting to outwit the Puzzler and a deadly agenda.  The NY Times puzzle master is trying to help, along with the city’s top detective, and U.S. Military Intelligence.  The 10 puzzles are difficult and the committee had to call in a fifth grader to assist them in the solving of at least one of the ten.

As the whole faculty is sometimes made fun of for the academic snobbery, many are revealed to be working too many angles and not actually involved in what they were hired to do.  Nothing is dull in this story from the shared philosophy discussions to the humorous personality traits exposed.  We are treated to the complete academic year and even a bit of summer session.  The reader must take a good look at essential issues, because they are urgent and fun and one must turn on the thinking skills and get right into gear.

Meryl Zegarek Public Relations, Inc. www.mzpr.com sent me an uncorrected Galley for review and in the promotion material with the book was this paragraph:

“The mystery is complex and the book has a great deal of wit and humor.  Will Shortz, NEW YORK TIMES Puzzle Master makes a decisive appearance in the book along with Bernie Sanders, Lady Gaga and other celebrities.  Members of the faculty and all of the victims, except one, are entirely fictional.  Carse says they bear no direct relation to persons living or dead.  They are composites so carefully drawn that some readers may feel they are real and perhaps even recognizable.  The one exception concerns a highly dramatic crime that led to prosecution and imprisonment.  That person, once a colleague of Carse’s, is long dead.  The author leaves it up to curious readers or NYU alumni to figure this one out.”

That paragraph just sent me right to open the book and start reading.  I had to keep putting the book down, when I wanted to just keep reading and reading.  Good twists and hooks found here.

From the cover:

“Carse, Emeritus Professor himself at a premier university – in a major city on a square- shows no mercy in his creation of the seemingly omniscient Puzzler, who through a sequence of atrocities beginning and ending with the academic year, turns up one hidden pocket of moral rot after another.”

“The engaging and insightful stories explain why Carse has gained an almost cult-like following at NYU and beyond.”  (-Publishers Weekly)

James P. Carse Website
James P. Carse Wikipedia

Related:
Autumn In Oxford
Gone To Soldiers
When Women Were Birds

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY (An Ayesha Ryder Novel) ~Nick Pengelley

Thursday, May 21st, 2015

TLC Book Tours  sent me an uncorrected eBook of this book probably because they know how much I enjoyed reading the first two books in the series!  I am very glad they sent an advanced copy; a good read.

“Fans of Steve Berry and James Rollins will devour Ryder: Bird of Prey, the latest white-knuckle thriller featuring Palestinian-born, British-educated adventurer Ayesha Ryder. She’s one of fiction’s boldest heroines—and now she’s rewriting royal history.” (from Amazon page)

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY is a great read.  I like the political aspects, the suspenseful elements, the chase, the history and the knowing that there is a pub as part of the International school located at Herstmonceux Castle.  I enjoy the intelligent thinking of the academics solving this ancient problem and wandering through the countryside, tombs and Abbeys on these life changing treasure hunts.  I can renew my history lessons and figure out what is fantasy and where the mythology meets the road.  And Yes!  The mercenaries always seem to have guns and weapons galore (on the page!).

I just cannot imagine readers not loving that our heroine and hero are sexy Librarians and Archeologists and our weapons of choice are crossbows and arrows!

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY is also very fast paced and as thus truly provided an escape when I was in most need.   I read the book in about 8 hours and it held my attention.  The writing is quite good and although I received an uncorrected e- copy there was only 1 typo and one missing word in the entire read.  Punctuation was not a problem.  Using a Zeppelin was also an interesting concept as well as students as warriors.   Quite a way to learn history.

I am going to put all three books in the series in a gift box and give it to my friend for her summer at the beach cabin.   I am surprised how much I like this series and would have to say it is because of the political, the history and how “smart” a read is RYDER: BIRD OF PREY

About the Author:

“Nick Pengelley is the author of the political thrillers Ryder, Ryder: American Treasure, and Ryder: Bird of Prey. Australian by birth, he’s had careers in Australia, Canada, and the United Kingdom as a law professor, legal consultant, and analyst on Middle East politics, which is his passion. Pengelley lives in Toronto with his family. “ ( from the TLC Tour page)

Related:
Ryder
Ryder: American Treasure
The Fixer 
The Unforgiveable Fix