Home Recommended Reading Workshops About RSS

Posts Tagged ‘Nick Pengelley’

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY (An Ayesha Ryder Novel) ~Nick Pengelley

Thursday, May 21st, 2015

TLC Book Tours  sent me an uncorrected eBook of this book probably because they know how much I enjoyed reading the first two books in the series!  I am very glad they sent an advanced copy; a good read.

“Fans of Steve Berry and James Rollins will devour Ryder: Bird of Prey, the latest white-knuckle thriller featuring Palestinian-born, British-educated adventurer Ayesha Ryder. She’s one of fiction’s boldest heroines—and now she’s rewriting royal history.” (from Amazon page)

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY is a great read.  I like the political aspects, the suspenseful elements, the chase, the history and the knowing that there is a pub as part of the International school located at Herstmonceux Castle.  I enjoy the intelligent thinking of the academics solving this ancient problem and wandering through the countryside, tombs and Abbeys on these life changing treasure hunts.  I can renew my history lessons and figure out what is fantasy and where the mythology meets the road.  And Yes!  The mercenaries always seem to have guns and weapons galore (on the page!).

I just cannot imagine readers not loving that our heroine and hero are sexy Librarians and Archeologists and our weapons of choice are crossbows and arrows!

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY is also very fast paced and as thus truly provided an escape when I was in most need.   I read the book in about 8 hours and it held my attention.  The writing is quite good and although I received an uncorrected e- copy there was only 1 typo and one missing word in the entire read.  Punctuation was not a problem.  Using a Zeppelin was also an interesting concept as well as students as warriors.   Quite a way to learn history.

I am going to put all three books in the series in a gift box and give it to my friend for her summer at the beach cabin.   I am surprised how much I like this series and would have to say it is because of the political, the history and how “smart” a read is RYDER: BIRD OF PREY

About the Author:

“Nick Pengelley is the author of the political thrillers Ryder, Ryder: American Treasure, and Ryder: Bird of Prey. Australian by birth, he’s had careers in Australia, Canada, and the United Kingdom as a law professor, legal consultant, and analyst on Middle East politics, which is his passion. Pengelley lives in Toronto with his family. “ ( from the TLC Tour page)

Related:
Ryder
Ryder: American Treasure
The Fixer 
The Unforgiveable Fix

Ayesha Ryder: American Treasure, International Suspense ~Nick Pengelley

Monday, January 12th, 2015

“His goals were clear.  First the 1814 treasure, then he could take care of Ryder.  The first meant little to him, except that it furthered the work of Shamir.  The second would be the fulfillment of a dream.” (Location 247 in an uncorrected, unproofed e-copy)

AYESHA RYDER: American Treasure has all the excitement of a thriller, all the international flare you would expect, politics at it’s most low breath of scruples and  a wonderful heroine, archeologist who apparently can figure out the solutions.  The top American political figures are visiting in England and Ayesha Ryder is puzzling her way through T.E. Lawrence’s clues to find the ARK, when she is commissioned to find the treasures stolen by the British during the War of Independence.

Within these treasures is a letter written by President Madison revealing who in the government is assisting the British in the war efforts.  The treasures were stolen from the White House and hidden within one of them is the revealing letter.  The two candidates vying to become the next President of the USA are both descendants of Madison’s White House.   Lots of strong women in this story, also the radical Shamir group which wishes to control the American election process and defeat the pro-Holyland country formed by Israel and Palestine’s amelioration.

I recommend this book to those who like this kind of suspense as it is intelligent and clever and opens up some new thinking.  I am not as fond of this style of book and yet, when I was sinking into a nasty cold, I was happy to be totally distracted by this read, which just gripped me in and held firm.   The speed of the book is compelling dirty politics, I think we all suspect something or other is going on behind the scenes.  I enjoyed the travel around England and learning the new touches of history told within building structures.

TLC Book Tours  sent me an advanced reading copy of this book for review and I was pleased to have it as the perfect book for a distraction needing time in my life.  I think you would enjoy it too.

Nick Pengelley is the author of the political thrillers RYDER and RYDER: AMERICAN TREASURE.  Australian by birth, he’s had careers in Australia, Canada, and the United Kingdom as a law professor, legal consultant, and analyst on Middle East politics, which is his passion.  Pengelley lives in Toronto with his wife, Pamela.

www.neicholaspengelley.com
Nicholas Pengelley Facebook

Related:
Ayesha Ryder
In Doubt
Supreme Justice
The Condor Song