Home Recommended Reading Workshops About RSS

Posts Tagged ‘future’

WATER ON THE MOON: A Novel ~Jean P. Moore

Monday, October 26th, 2015

Imagine you are enjoying a morning of relaxing in bed for a bit longer, the twins even have the day off from high school and you all can just remain cozy between the covers.  You begin to hear the sound of an approaching airplane and then realize the plane is in trouble and heading toward your house.  Racing to gather everyone together you bundle all including the dog into a room protected by the stairs and then the plane crashes right into the house.  Now in shock you and the girls wait for the neighbors to find you and dig you out of the wreckage.  So begins a story of major life changes and path finding for 3 women and their family friend, who provides them shelter and encourages the future.

The author and TLC Book Tours sent me a paperback copy of this book for review.  WATER ON THE MOON is already receiving awards and it is a wonderful read.  The story line is believable and the trip through the past is revealing and connecting.  The secrets are all the way back to Lord Byron and his words and life.

Lidia has a great many things going on in her life right now.  She is three years divorced and her ex has married another man.  The twins have not forgiven their father and Lidia is still angry about the whole experience.  Then she lost her job at a time where there were no openings and she was living off her savings and now this!  An airplane has crashed into the home built by her Grandfather and destroyed all of their things.  They are down to the bare bones and living with an elderly friend and a newspaper reporter suggests that Lidia is related to the pilot who died in the crash.  It is taking all her energy to get off the couch and progress into her future and keep the girls on target for school and college.

The story has an interesting premise that creates a mystery to be figured out and explained.  The story unfolds gently and it is almost like Lidia, we have to get off the couch of confusion and suffering and one-step at a time find the answers and the future.  Lidia must first overcome her fear of diving deeply into this experience, feel the feelings and discover the relief of answers.

I enjoyed reading WATER ON THE MOON very much and although I would not want a plane to crash on me, I am aware that we all need to feel the feelings, figure out our mystery in life and step by step move forward with our lives.  It is a good curl up and enjoy a good afternoon read, maybe while still under the covers being cozy!

From the book cover about Jean Moore:

Jean P. Moore began her professional life as an English teacher, later becoming a telecommunications executive.  She and her husband, Steve, and Sly, their black Lab, divide their time between Greenwich, Connecticut and the Berkshires in Massachusetts, where Jean teaches yoga in the summers.  Jean’s work has appeared in literary journals newspapers, and magazines.  WATER ON THE MOON is her first novel.”

Related:
The Reinvention of Albert Paugh
Dog Crazy
US

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY (An Ayesha Ryder Novel) ~Nick Pengelley

Thursday, May 21st, 2015

TLC Book Tours  sent me an uncorrected eBook of this book probably because they know how much I enjoyed reading the first two books in the series!  I am very glad they sent an advanced copy; a good read.

“Fans of Steve Berry and James Rollins will devour Ryder: Bird of Prey, the latest white-knuckle thriller featuring Palestinian-born, British-educated adventurer Ayesha Ryder. She’s one of fiction’s boldest heroines—and now she’s rewriting royal history.” (from Amazon page)

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY is a great read.  I like the political aspects, the suspenseful elements, the chase, the history and the knowing that there is a pub as part of the International school located at Herstmonceux Castle.  I enjoy the intelligent thinking of the academics solving this ancient problem and wandering through the countryside, tombs and Abbeys on these life changing treasure hunts.  I can renew my history lessons and figure out what is fantasy and where the mythology meets the road.  And Yes!  The mercenaries always seem to have guns and weapons galore (on the page!).

I just cannot imagine readers not loving that our heroine and hero are sexy Librarians and Archeologists and our weapons of choice are crossbows and arrows!

RYDER: BIRD OF PREY is also very fast paced and as thus truly provided an escape when I was in most need.   I read the book in about 8 hours and it held my attention.  The writing is quite good and although I received an uncorrected e- copy there was only 1 typo and one missing word in the entire read.  Punctuation was not a problem.  Using a Zeppelin was also an interesting concept as well as students as warriors.   Quite a way to learn history.

I am going to put all three books in the series in a gift box and give it to my friend for her summer at the beach cabin.   I am surprised how much I like this series and would have to say it is because of the political, the history and how “smart” a read is RYDER: BIRD OF PREY

About the Author:

“Nick Pengelley is the author of the political thrillers Ryder, Ryder: American Treasure, and Ryder: Bird of Prey. Australian by birth, he’s had careers in Australia, Canada, and the United Kingdom as a law professor, legal consultant, and analyst on Middle East politics, which is his passion. Pengelley lives in Toronto with his family. “ ( from the TLC Tour page)

Related:
Ryder
Ryder: American Treasure
The Fixer 
The Unforgiveable Fix

THE THING ABOUT GREAT WHITE SHARKS and other stories ~Rebecca Adams Wright

Tuesday, March 3rd, 2015

“These are ceaselessly inventive stories, witty, wry, and wondrous, by turn, and all graced with an emotional sincerity that ensure they never dip into mere whimsy.  This is speculative fiction with both a head and a heart.”  -Peter Ho Davies, author of The Welsh Girl. (From the cover)

THE THING ABOUT GREAT WHITE SHARKS and Other Stories is that it is a collection of fine boned stories that connect in the present moment, while drawing close history and future into the reader’s comprehension while evolving into a truly original possibility.

I grabbed the Uncorrected, Unproofed book as I was heading for a doctor’s appointment.  One more stories and one more test turned into an incredible 9 hour waiting event and THE THING ABOUT GREAT WHITE SHARKS held my attention through each test and waiting for an outcome.  The stories grabbed hold of the mind’s eye and held on until the story stopped.  The stories swirled around in my head while sleep was induced and pain relieved.  My advocate perused the stories while I rested.

The chapter titles caught my attention:

  • Sheila
  • Tiger Brigh
  • What to Expect When You’re expecting an Alien Parasite
  • Orchids
  • Melville loves Hawthorne
  • The Other Husband
  • Barnstormers
  • The Space We Share
  • Poland, 1952
  • Keeper of the Glass
  • Yuri, in a Blue Dress
  • Storybag
  • The Thing about Great White Sharks
  • Aleph Bat
  • The White Chalk Road

How amazing would it be to be flying in an ornithopter in an air show and to know that you just saved your teams future by flying a new and dangerous configuration?  How hard would it be to give up your dog companion and good friend because the law said it was to be done? How would you rationalize or explain a school locker turning in homework after the student died?

I was very pleased to be reviewing these stories for TLC Book Tours so I could share them with you.   I did not like every story in the book with equal delight and yet the book got me through a difficult day with the clever, heartfelt writing

About the author from TLC web page:

“Rebecca Adams Wright is a 2011 graduate of the Clarion Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers’ Workshop and a former University of Michigan Zell Writing Fellow. She has an MFA in fiction from the University of Michigan and has won the Leonard and Eileen Newman Writing Prize. Rebecca lives in Ypsilanti, Michigan, with her husband and daughter.”

Rebecca Adams Wright Facebook
Rebecca Adams Wright Website 

Related:
What the Zhang Boys Know
Flings
No Longer And Not Yet 
Half As Happy Stories 

THE SOWING: Book One of the Seeds Trilogy ~K. Makansi

Monday, December 9th, 2013


THE RESISTANCE HAS BEGUN

What an exciting read.  THE SOWING is an interesting study of a society which has survived and modified into a command center of academic achievement and a supplier of food for every citizen.  Okarians have survived years of Religious Wars and Famine and developed a culture which has a layered responsibility for each group all reaching towards the top of the hierarchy and the Capital City.  Each person has a place and an outcome; the genetically engineered food is all programed to match perfectly the person’s needs and future endeavors.  As in any society, there are those who do not agree with the lifestyle which is promoted and insured.

The Okarain Society is celebrating 100 years since the end of famine and the Directors have taken charge of the Sectors.  The food workers are supposed to be the most elevated within the society, but they are in reality bred to be laborers with about a 40 year life span.  The work is hard and takes place away from the Capital in small sectors/farms.   Where the wilds have begun to return, there are people who roam the outer areas as Nomads, there are Outsiders who seem to be able to disappear in Nature and then there is the Resistance.

The SOWING is the first book in a trilogy and it very much parallels what people are learning about seed control, food, disease, and pollution in our society.  This is the crucial backstory and it is quite interesting to explore how the Resistance is surviving and making their point.  There are earlier stories of people who have disappeared, been killed and have left the Sector’s cities for various reasons.  Scientists, Mathematicians, Chemists, Computer Engineers, Genetics researchers, and Dieticians, are all selected out of the groups and given great privilege at the Academy.  The story is chocked full of computer knowledge, cloaking devices, futuristic transportations, and knowledge bases and data raids.  How does one begin again and develop real food?

The SOWINGS authors are fascinating:  K. Makansi is a pen name consisting of Kristina Blank Makansi, Amira K. Makansi, and Elena K Makansi, who form a mother-daughter writing team with a wide variety of interests including food-justice issue and study.

THE REAPING is book 2 and is due out in 2014.   I can hardly wait as I found this to be an extremely interesting read and I enjoyed discovering the authors various passions played out in the futuristic story. I believe it is rather like Harry Potter as it is written to appeal to all ages. The bits of romance make it a young adult read. The premise and thinking in the book create a more detailed story line than say The Hunger Games.   THE SOWING has great appeal and relates well to some of the current concerns in our environment presently occurring.

The book is reasonably priced on KINDLE and for other e-readers. I know my daughters will enjoy reading this series very much.  I know 2 fellows in high school who would want to read this story and have a great discussion.

tlc logo This book was sent to me for review by TLC Online Books tours and Layla Dog Press of Saint Louis, MO.    It was a privilege to read this book and share my thoughts about THE SOWING.

The Seeds Trilogy on the Web
The Seeds Trilogy Blog
The Seeds Trilogy on Facebook

If you purchase anything from Amazon or Powell’s (giving away a free tote bag this season with all orders) from this site, I will receive a few beans in my bucket.  Thank you.  Donations also welcomed.

Related Reading:
HAVEN
The Shock Doctrine
Agenda For a New Economy
When Women Were Birds